Best Fifa Football Awards 2018: Luka Modric named FIFA Best Men's Player of the Year

Luka Modric was crowned as the best men's player of the year at the awards ceremony
Luka Modric, 33, has been named the FIFA Best Men’s Player at The Best Football Awards on Monday evening at the Royal Festival Hall in London.

The Real Madrid and Croatia midfielder, beat former team-mate Cristiano Ronaldo, now with Juventus, and Liverpool's Mohamed Salah to claim the award.

The award caps off an incredible year for Modric, who won his fourth Champions League title with Real Madrid in May, before leading his country to a World Cup final in July and being crowned UEFA Men’s Player of the Year last month.

The Best Men’s Player of the year award, formerly named the Fifa World Player of the Year, has long been dominated by both Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, but Barcelona forward Messi failed to make the shortlist for this years award for the first time since 2006.

Juventus forward Ronaldo had won the two previous Best Fifa awards before this year, but was beaten to this years crown by his former Real Madrid teammate and also missed out of the UEFA Men’s Player of the Year award to Modric last month.

No comments:

Post a comment

Follow us on Social Media:
Twitter: @NewsBrit
Facebook: @NewsBrit
Instagram: @Newsbrit

Disclaimer: The views expressed in the comment section are those of our users and do not reflect the views of Newsbrit.