Real Madrid's Luka Modric surpasses Ronaldo & Messi to win 2018 Ballon d’Or award

Real Madrid midfielder, Luka Modric has won the Ballon d'Or award for the first time, ending the 10-year dominance of football superstars Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

The 33-year-old won the Uefa Champions League with Madrid and then guided Croatia to the FIFA World Cup final in July. He was voted player of the tournament.

The prize, exchanging hands between Ronaldo and Messi since 2008, was awarded to the Croatian and Real Madrid superstar for his role in his club’s win of their third consecutive Champions League title, and in leading his country to the World Cup final.

Juventus’ Ronaldo was in second place while Barcelona's Messi for the first time since 2018 was outside the top 2, coming fifth.

Athletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann came third with Kylian Mbappe coming fourth.

READ ALSO: EPL: Southampton sack manager Mark Hughes after 2-2 draw with Man Utd

PSG and France superstar, Mbappé, was named the world’s best under-21 player. While Lyon and Norway striker, Ada Hegerberg, won the the first ever Ballon d'Or Féminin - the women’s Ballon d’Or.


Do you have a story to tell, adverts placement or images to share on a breaking news in Nigeria? contact Naijaslog via Whatsapp: 0816 156 4122, email [email protected]

1 comment:

Follow us on Social Media:
Twitter: @NewsBrit
Facebook: @NewsBrit
Instagram: @Newsbrit

Disclaimer: The views expressed in the comment section are those of our users and do not reflect the views of Newsbrit.